B.C. wine task group proposes reforms

Byline: Kimberly Davidson, Global News

A B.C. wine task group is hoping to sub-divide wine regions to offer consumers more information about soil and climate conditions.

Wine regions can be further broken down into appellations.

Currently B.C. has five officially designated wine regions.

They are the Okanagan Valley, Similkameen Valley, Fraser Valley, Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands.

Among its recommendations, the B.C. Wine Appellation Task Group wants to create four new appellations;  Thompson Valley, Lillooet-Lytton, Shuswap and Kooteanays.

“Around the world today wine makers and wine enthusiasts are increasingly interested in the soil and climate conditions of where the wine is grown,” says Ezra Cipes, chair of the B.C. Wine Appellation Task Group.  “Our recommendations will help to strengthen a sense of place for our wines that is uniquely about British Columbia.”

The task group has completed a report called “Wine Industry Turning Point”.

It has been submitted to the British Columbia Wine Authority for consideration.